Vektorikuvitus. Megafoni.

YHYS annual meeting decisions – new chair for 2023

The annual meeting of YHYS ry, the Finnish Society for Environmental Social Sciences, was held on 24th November at Tampere University, in connection to YHYS colloquium.

The meeting chose Pasi Heikkurinen from the University of Helsinki as the new chair of YHYS board. Mikko Jalas from Aalto University continues as the vice-chair.

Congratulations Pasi and thank you Jarkko Levänen for chairing the society the past 3 years!

The members of the board with their personal vice-members for 2023 are:

  • Anni Turunen and deputy Riikka Aro (Jyväskylä University)
  • Kamilla Karhunmaa (Helsinki University) and deputy Corinna Casi (Helsinki University)
  • Erkki-Jussi Nylen and deputy Senja Laakso (Tampere University)
  • Anna Härri (LUT University) and deputy Jarkko Levänen (LUT University)
  • Lasse Peltonen (UEF) and deputy Irmeli Mustalahti (UEF)
  • Aino Rekola (SYKE) and deputy Johan Munck Af Rosenschöld (SYKE)
  • Esa Ruuskanen (Oulu University) and deputy Leena Suopajärvi (University of Lapland)
  • Nina Tynkkynen (Åbo Akademi) and deputy Minna Santaoja (UEF)
  • Heini Ahtiainen (ECHA) and deputy Vilja Varho (Luonnonvarakeskus)
    The membership fees for 2023 remain the same: 25e / 12e student /50e or other sum as a support membership.

The society will continue its established activities in 2023, such as Politiikkadialogi together with Ympäristötiedon foorumi, the fall colloquium, the Master’s thesis award, and publishing the Versus online platform with other societies. YHYS will continue to organize events for doctoral researchers and making the society better known among students was discussed as well.

Furthermore, the meeting made a decision in principle to start to publish, together with Alue- ja ympäristötutkimuksen seura, the Alue ja ympäristö journal, which is the most important domestic journal for environmental social sciences. The details of the collaboration will be established by the boards of the societies. The journal is still looking for two new editors in chief.